“BURIED ALIVE”

Buried Alive, but I still hear the cries of the orphan.

Buried Alive, but I still hear the sobs of the grieving mother’s pain , who are too young to  remember my burial.

Buried Alive, but I still sway to the sound of “Respect” and “You Make Me Feel Like a Natural Woman”

Even though I was Buried Alive, there is still movement in my limbs, and conciousness in my breath.

Buried Alive, but my continued movement still causes uneasiness to the stoic Gravediggers.

Buried Alive, but I have Amazingly shred my burial gown, and dawned this Jubilee Suit.

For I live in an Age where burial is not permanent or eternal, but a state of mind, that is maintained by Doctrine.

That is why I rejoice daily, for having returned from the Grave.

– Hanif Gereau-Bey
#295933 – Keen Mountain Correctional Center

Leave a Reply

